An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion with the same speed and in the same direction unless acted upon by an unbalanced force

Newtons First Law of Motion

I’ve noticed something interesting about my morning ritual. The first few hours of my morning set the tone for the rest of the day.

Lazy mornings give birth to lazy afternoons and evenings that are lazier still. Each swat toward the snooze button equals 200 less words I will have written by the time 8:00 PM rolls around. The longer I browse Twitter from the warm cocoon of my comforter, the less intense my workout will be later that afternoon.

On the other hand, active mornings lead to active afternoons and highly productive evenings. The more I accomplish, the more I want to accomplish. The more energy I expend, the more I have. Each item I cross off my to-do-list, before the bell tolls noon, is like an espresso shot. Cooking a healthy breakfast triples the chance that I will eat a healthy lunch.

Pretty weird, isn’t it?

Laying around like a lion lounging off a gazelle carcass is energy conservation, is it not? Come afternoon, I should snap upright and attack the day with twice the tenacity of the hyperactive early birds, right?

No, not at all.

But why?

An object in motion stays in motion.

By 10:00 AM I have (usually) already brewed coffee, “enjoyed” a cold shower, lifted a bunch of heavy weights, spent 30 minutes jogging, made a nutritious breakfast, drank fresh juice and done some reading/writing. My body and mind have no choice. My body and mind must be mature adults. Body and mind must accept the fact that they’re here to get shit done, whether they like it or not.

So, a morning spent watching the Three Stooges from the cozy rocking of an indoor hammock is not energy conservation. It is habit formation. Dedicate the beginning of your day to exercise and other productive hobbies. This is how you beat the lazy, reptilian portion of your brain into submission. And if you follow this advice, after a while, I don’t think you will have a problem with motivation anymore.

In fact, you’ll have a problem winding down and going to sleep.

Askari Rey

