overcome-objections

Fielding objections is repetitive.

Pretend you sell motorcycles.

Everyday you hear customers make statements like:

“I need a bike with more horsepower.”

“This motorcycle is too expensive.”

“I’m going to buy this bike but I have to wait until I get my tax returns.”

Every product and service comes with a finite list of objections for the customer to choose from.

For example, gun salesmen hear the phrase “I cannot buy this gun because the ammo is too expensive.” a lot.

However, gun salesmen do not hear the phrase “I cannot buy this gun because raw onions give me heartburn.” a lot.

You’re a salesman. You WILL face objections. You WILL  face the EXACT SAME objections again and again and again and again.

Keep your magazine stocked with bullets and you will torpedo objections out of existence like so many lame ducks.

Objection: Call me back in Spring

Response: I know it sounds crazy to talk about the lawn now, but we need to do the scheduling now to ensure that we put down the right products at the right time. A the best application is a timely application. Also, we have the best prices of the season right now.

Objection: I can’t afford it.

Response: I completely understand. Times are tough. I’m on a budget too. But just like a car, your lawn is something that needs to be maintained; if it doesn’t get treated it will cost more money in the long run. I am going to help you out with the price today.

Objection: I didn’t see any difference when you guys treated my lawn.

Response: I am really sorry to hear that. (Profile to discover exact issues) Moving forward, the service we do for you has free service calls. Which means we will come out in-between scheduled visits to retreat any issues that you have. That’s the Lawn Pimp Guarantee.

Objection: The technician didn’t treat my lawn!

Response: I’m sorry about that. Did you see results from the area that wasn’t treated? That’s not typical of our 10 yer state certified techs. The way our techs work is, they start in the furthest point in the back and work their way forward, moving at a very quick pace o the product is applied properly.

Objection: Lawn Pimps burned grass!

Response: I am really sorry to hear that. Which part of the lawn did you say was burnt? When did it happen?

Objection: I have a different company.

Response: I am sorry to hear that. Why did you decide to go with them?

Objection: I’m getting a better price from Turf Ballers.

Response: I’m not going to be the cheapest price out there but I will deliver the best results out there. That would be worth the price difference, right?

Objection: I want to do it myself.

Response: Perfect! You are the type of person that I would like to work with. You can still cut the grass and make sure it’s watered. But you are limited to the product you can buy in the store. The products you get in the store are not designed for your environment We also guarantee our work.

Objection: I’m moving.

Response: That’s great and I hope that you are moving on to bigger and better things. But knowing how long it take to sell a house and how important curb appeal is to a property, you need maintain the lawn until you move.

. . .

There is a time and a place for improvisation: After you close.

Objection are as predictable as the rising sun and there is no excuse to not be ready for them.

